Charlotte Turkey Trot recap

26 Nov

As you’ve seen, Andrew and I ran an 8K on Turkey Day.

I was very excited that Andrew agreed to run with me.  It’s so much better to run with someone else than alone.  We started towards the back since I knew that I don’t run that fast.  Andrew and I got our pace pretty quick and before we knew it were at mile 1.  High fives! 😉

When I registered on the website it kept touting a new course.  Apparently that new course…included lots of lovely hills. Here in Virginia Beach, we don’t have to many of those raising inclines, unless they are man-made.  I’ve gotta say, I’m pretty proud of us because we ran up all the hills.   By the third hill I was cursing them, but hell, I did it!

Yeah, that’s not how I felt.

Around mile 2, running through a neighborhood, there were some people out in their front yard making cocktails.  They seemed to have the ingredients for mimosas and something with rum.  Andrew and I saw a guy go back and grab two drinks one for him and one for his friend. Good times.

A little ways after that (mile 3?) we overheard the following conversation: “Hey Mike, how are you doing?”  “Hey John, very poorly!”  It was hilarious at the time and Andrew and I referred to it constantly throughout the week. 

I’ve got to give major props to my brother.  He was an amazing cheerleader and coach. High fives after every mile, words of encouragement…awesome job bro!  I told him that I was going to walk for a little bit once we hit the traffic light (the hills killed my thighs) he told me I could, but as soon as mile four came up, I was running again.  See, good coaching right there!

I’m also proud of him because I know he was hurtin’ the last mile and half or so.  He pushed through it and we even sprinted to the finish. 

Now, I’ve definitely caught the racing bug!  If you’re interested in some upcoming Virginia Beach area races, check out these!

Jingle Bell Run/Walk December 1st – Norfolk

Christmas Town Dash 8K December 2nd – Williamsburg

Surf n Santa 10 miler December 8th – Virginia Beach

Santa Claus Shuffle 5K December 15th – Portsmouth

 

 

One Response to “Charlotte Turkey Trot recap”

  1. thelastcorral November 26, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    I am so proud of both of you!
    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...because healthy living shouldn't be complicated.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

The Sexy Flexi - This Blog Has Changed

now blogging at www.lifeisbangin.com

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Daily Cup of Yoga

tips, tools, & wisdom on yoga, fitness, & technology

