I exercised….

7 Nov

My right to vote!

I had this grand scheme yesterday on voting.  I would leave school right after my last conference, drive over to my voting station (beating all the base traffic of course), slip right into line and be done with voting in 45 minutes.  Then I would have plenty of time to go for a run and workout.

Did that happen?  Of course not!

I did leave right after my last conference.  I also did beat the base traffic.  Where my plan got iffy was slipping into line and being finished within 45 minutes.

When I got to my voting station, I was met with this:

I tried to vote before school, but the line looked like this then.  I didn’t have high hopes.  After standing in line for about a 20 minutes a polling volunteer came around and told us it was a two and half hour wait from where we were.  Two and half hours would put me inside to vote at 7:00.

Believe me, I am not complaining about waiting in line, I gladly did it.  I just don’t understand the hold up. 

After about an hour, I saw this beautiful sight:

 

The inside of the polling station!  Notice how everyone has their hoods up and scarves?  Yeah, it was freezing both inside the building and out. Oy!

It took me an hour and forty minutes, but:

I’ve heard some stories of people waiting 5 to 6 hours to vote!  I am grateful that I got to vote and am very proud of my country.

Some things I learned about my neighbors while standing in line:

  • They are very giving.  On more than one occasion the lady behind me offered me her other pair of gloves to wear.
  • Most people who live in Virginia Beach, are not from Virginia Beach
  • Teachers are very opinionated.  This I already knew, but my suspicions were confirmed as I was standing in line with four other fellow teachers.

I hope you got out to vote and did your civic duty!

 

Leave a Reply

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...because healthy living shouldn't be complicated.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

The Sexy Flexi - This Blog Has Changed

now blogging at www.lifeisbangin.com

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Daily Cup of Yoga

tips, tools, & wisdom on yoga, fitness, & technology

