So not Joan

2 May

I could so not have been a Mad WoMen…

Although I do love Joan’s hair, and attitude, and fashion sense…  Hmm, maybe I could swing it.

Anyway, today I went to Sears.  No, that’s not why I could not be a housewife in the 50’s/60’s.  It has been hot as blazes the past couple of days and summers right around the corner; so I figured why not change the air filter.  While I was at it,  I got new vacuum cleaner bags.  The exciting life I lead, I know. 

Changed the HVAC filter.  Pretty easy, but I needed a chair and a step stool to reach said filter.  When I opened the door I saw that the filter was filthy and the previous tenants had probably not changed it before moving as they are contractually obligated to do. 

Thanks former tenants!

So filter changed, check!  I then went to turn on the thermostat that had been off since the end of winter.  Turned it to cool and auto…nothing.  Drat!  Except I didn’t say drat.  Tried holding down the hold and select buttons…nothing.  Drat again!  Still not saying drat.  Decided to come back to thermostat problem and change vacuum bag and then vacuum. 

I noticed yesterday when I was doing Swiss ball exercises that when I got up, I had little fuzzies and lovely Bond fur all over my sweaty self.  I knew I had just vacuumed over the weekend and there was no way that Bond had accumulated that much cat fur in two days.  He may be a furry beast, but he’s not that much of a furry beast.

 

After congratulating myself for getting the right sized bags, I pulled off the old bag.  A waterfall of fuzz, hair, and dirt came falling out.  Awesome.  I saw that something was sticking out of the hose that connects to the bag.  What was it you ask?  A broken pencil.  Awesome again. I then spent the next 10 minutes pulling out said broken pencil, a hoseful of old hair and other gross things, and a nail.  Of course I could only use A finger to pull everything out… 

Vacuumed with new bag, success!  Back to thermostat and Google.  I Googled, “my electronic thermostat won’t turn on.”  Guess what,  I could talk to a technician that worked with my brand to help me.  Sweet!  Oh, but by the way, that’ll be $30 up front before I even talk to the guy.  Yeah, no.  A couple more searches and I saw that if you have an emergency gas switch it should be on.  Well, guess what again…mine was off!  Woohoo, easy fix. 

I am now sitting in a lovely air-conditioned apartment, with clean vacuumed floors.

But like I said, I’m so not Joan.  They would have either thrown out the broken things and gotten new ones.  Or had the maid try to figure out all the craziness. 

 

Leave a Reply

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...because healthy living shouldn't be complicated.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

The Sexy Flexi - This Blog Has Changed

now blogging at www.lifeisbangin.com

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Daily Cup of Yoga

tips, tools, & wisdom on yoga, fitness, & technology

