Green Goddess

26 Apr

Today after school I was very excited to go to Shorebreak and pick up my CSA and farm goodies!

This week I purchased the weekly Seasonal Selection from Mattawoman Creek.   The cost is $18 plus tax, but look at my haul!

In my bag I got:

two heads of lettuce

two heads of kolhrabi

carrots

spinach

head of tatsoi

I’m pretty confident that I know what to do with everything, but the kohlrabi.  I looked it up and it’s supposedly a cabbage like tasting veggie.  How do I use this thing!?

Off to the side of the picture I got some other things from Full Quiver Farms.  Full Quiver is a small, family run farm out in Suffolk VA.  They endorse natural meat and eggs.  No animals in cages or in small spaces.  All the animals are out and grazing around the farm.  From Full Quiver I got a dozen eggs, Polish keilbasa, and hot sausage.  I’m super excited!

In Other News

I think I mentioned that I loved my bouquet from Leanne’s wedding, right?  Well, I do!  I loved it so much that it came on the plane with me on the flights back from Columbus. 

 

I got some weird looks, but mainly everyone loved it.  Even the TSA lady was super nice about allowing me to bring it through security.  I had a lady on the shuttle bus in LGA tell me about all the bridesmaids dresses she has worn and then gave to her daughters as Prom dresses.  Then on my last flight the woman sitting in front of me showed me her lily tattoo and we talked about all the different types of lilies. 

And now…here the sit.  I hope they never die!!

Seriously, even when the plane landed and we were hydroplaning to the right…almost heading into the water…I was holding onto the flowers for dear life!  Ya know, not important stuff like myself, or cell phone…

School News

The kids needed to get up and moving today so they went out to play some dodge ball.  Don’t worry we used the softest balls, it was totally safe.  As one of the girls was throwing her ball to the boys (because of course it was boys vs. girls) she yelled, “You guys are ball less!”  Whoa, whoa, whoa!  She meant that the boys did not have any of the dodge ball’s to throw, that’s not what it sounded like.  Thankfully all of our boys are innocent and didn’t hear what the teachers heard.  However, the teachers were dying.  But how else would you say it?

Suggestions on kohlrabi?  How would you tell the opposing team that they were out of balls?

I know I promised part 2 of the wedding and I didn’t forget.  It’s coming, I swear!!

2 Responses to “Green Goddess”

  1. R April 30, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    kohlrabi can be added to chicken soup after peeing and dicing; also peel & dice steam, parboil, and serve with butter and seasoning salt as a side dish they should still be a little crunchy… D

    • thelastcorral April 30, 2012 at 11:24 am #

      Thanks! I’ll try that w/the purple one I have.

Leave a Reply

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...because healthy living shouldn't be complicated.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

The Sexy Flexi - This Blog Has Changed

now blogging at www.lifeisbangin.com

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Daily Cup of Yoga

tips, tools, & wisdom on yoga, fitness, & technology

