Crowns vs. Crayons

9 Feb

But we’ll get to that in a minute…

Today was a pretty good day.  I mean any day that is going to end in pancakes…is a good day. 

Other reasons:

Had a pretty good cold weather run.  Score!  Read here if you want some tips on cold weather running.  I definitely agree with the layering.  I had on two undershirts and then a wicking jacket.  My aunt got me the Nike Combat thermal:

From the academy

I really like mine a lot.  It’s also a compression shirt, so it sucks you all in.  Pretty great.  I also pretty much always wear my cheapo gloves from Target.  They are good for keeping fingers warm and wiping the snot away from you face, that’ll inevitably happen…  I ran/walked about 3.5 miles (3.4 if you’re really counting, I like to round-up). 

Number two reason why today is a good day: I also have two American Horror Story’s to watch.  I know I’m late to the party, but I am really enjoying this series!

 

It’s wrong on so many levels, but I can’t stop watching it.  That rubber suit guy…what the hell is that all about?   That creepy whistling song?  Not okay.

It wasn’t okay in Kill Bill and it’s not okay now in American Horror Story.  Also Jessica Lange is really good at playing bitchy, crazy people. 

School News

Crowns vs. Crayons.  When I moved to Ohio from Michigan there were a lot of things that were different.  People saying, “please” when they wanted you to repeat something, y’alls all over the place, the general Middletuckyness of Middletown.  But, one thing in school really perplexed me.  When we were doing projects and using colored pencils and the such the kids in my class would ask for crowns.  This was all very confusing as a) we were not at Burger King and b)last I checked I had not turned into a princess over night.  It took me a couple of times to realize that they were asking to borrow my crayons.

Today one of the first graders said she brought in crowns for the 100th day of school, but of course she meant crayons.  It was driving me crazy!  Luckily the general teacher called her on it.  Not that I want first graders to feel bad, but it’s just not right!!

What do you call them crayons (the correct way;) or crayons…?

 

 

One Response to “Crowns vs. Crayons”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hello? « The Last Corral - August 3, 2012

    […] crayons called crowns – You want this post, Crowns vs. Crayons, and no crayons are not called crowns.  Only people mispronouncing the name say crowns.  Let me […]

Leave a Reply

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...because healthy living shouldn't be complicated.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

The Sexy Flexi - This Blog Has Changed

now blogging at www.lifeisbangin.com

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Daily Cup of Yoga

tips, tools, & wisdom on yoga, fitness, & technology

