I’m depraved on account I’m deprived…

16 Jan

Any guesses as to what that is from??

No? 

WEST SIDE STORY!

I was thinking of making the title of  post with, “I gotta social disease!”  But I think people might get the wrong idea.

I can remember hearing West Side Story growing up.  My mom had the cassette version of Jose Carreras and Kiri Te Kanawa singing it!

I think it was something like 6 cassettes long…

I didn’t really understand it then, but I knew that the music was pretty.  Going on and going to voice lessons, my voice teacher gave me the song, “I Feel Pretty” to sing ( Spoiler this is not my favorite song from West Side), but it did get me interested in the music again.  I got the Original Broadway Cast Recording of West Side, starring non other than Chita Rivera and loved it!

Sidenote, my mom and I saw Chita in her one woman show when she came to Cincinnati.  Even in her 70’s Chita is still amazing!  She danced like I will never be able to!  Love her!

Moving on…West Side Story not only has amazing songs written by Leonard Bernstein and Stephen Sondheim, but beautiful and innovative choreography by Jerome Robbins.

Okay, so favorite songs:

Tonight

I like how the stories overlap and the melodies are all intertwined.  Bernstein knew what he was doing.

Somewhere

Gee Officer Krupke

Really, I love all the songs from West Side, really.  They are all pretty perfect for the modern-day Romeo and Juliet that plays out in the streets.

I was lucky enough to see the revival with my mom in 2009.  Matt Cavenaugh (Tony), Josefina Scaglione (Maria), and Karen Olivo (Anita) rounded out the cast.  Needless to say, they were all amazing. I had seen Karen Olivo in, “In the Heights” and loved her voice and sass.  She didn’t disappoint as Anita, there was plenty of sass to go around.  Matt Cavenaugh really surprised me with his voice, it was powerful, but at the same time innocent, clean and clear.  Josefina was amazing!  The notes she could hit were mind-boggling!

Do you have a favorite West Side character or song? (Mom??;)

One Response to “I’m depraved on account I’m deprived…”

  1. Mom January 18, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

    It has to be Tonight. When Anton hits that high note at the end…
    The perfect musical, never goes out of style!

Leave a Reply

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...because healthy living shouldn't be complicated.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

The Sexy Flexi - This Blog Has Changed

now blogging at www.lifeisbangin.com

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Daily Cup of Yoga

tips, tools, & wisdom on yoga, fitness, & technology

