What day is today?

2 Jan

Being on break is really throwing me off as to what day of the week it is…  Not that I’m complaining mind you.  I have absolutely loved being on Winter Break, visiting my family, eating great food, and being back at the beach. 

Some blogs do Magnificent Men of Monday (again not complaining) or some other such alliterative title so I thought, “why not?”  So I bring to you my first ever Musical Monday.

Why not get started with the one musical that really opened my eyes to all other musicals? RENT!  Sure I saw Phantom and it was amazing, but RENT was a whole other level.

I can remember recording the soundtrack from the library on to cassette tape.  Yes, cassette tape!  Isn’t that crazy!?  I would listen to it and sing my little heart out on the the way to vocal lessons.  Probably wrecking my vocal cords in the process. 

I thought it was amazing that there was a musical that talked about AIDS and was so riske.  Still being in high school some parts even made me blush a little bit, especially when my mom, dad, or younger brother was in the car while I was listening. 

When I heard that RENT was going to be touring and making a stop in Dayton, Ohio I was all over it!  I’m pretty sure I begged my mom to go and surprisingly she said yes. 

I was so excited when the day to go finally came.  It was a school night (scandalous) and freezing!  My mom told me that when buying the tickets the lady on the phone asked her if she knew what the musical was about….  You know us midwesterners are pretty easily bemused and offended…  Mom assured her it was fine.

We had seats somewhere in the 2nd balcony off to the left, but that didn’t matter.  I felt grown up.  Staying up late on a school night, to see a musical that talks about taboo things!  I looked around and I was one of only a hand full of other teenagers who got the privelge.

The show started…I was instantly mesmerized.  The set, music, and singing were like nothing I’d ever seen before.  I’m sure I sat through the whole show with a look of awe on my face. When the show ended I was sad.  Not only because Angel died, but because now I would be stuck listening to my tape of the show when I knew how wonderful it was live! 

RENT opened me up to Adam Pascal and Indina Menzel…a slight obsession was born.  Not only with these two great actors, but with musical theater.  Later for my high school graduation trip to NYC I would get to see Adam Pascal in Aida and get to meet him, but not be able to talk…

I still love RENT to this day.  When my younger cousin Allie graduated high school we went to see one of the last shows before RENT went off broadway (thanks Allie;).  In that show I got to hear Gwen Stewart live and in person…ah.maz.ing.  Somehow, I can’t remember how this happened exactly, my grandma grew to love RENT.  I was amazed that she also found it touching and as amazing as I did.  She even ended all of her letters or cards with, “No Day but Today!”

I still love RENT and want to get the words that Jonathan Larson so elequently wrote tattooed somewhere at some time…

There’s only now, there’s only here, give in to love, or live in fear.  No other path, no other way.  No day but today!

What is your favorite musical?

4 Responses to “What day is today?”

  1. aunt Julie January 2, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    I can’t even pick a favorite musical!!!! Too many to figure out, but I guess it would have to be the classic musical..A CHORUS LINE!!! I’ve seen it twice in NYC and can’t even count the times elsewhere!!! But then there was Evita with Mandy Patkin as Che, and Nine, 42nd street with Jerry Orbach and Tammy Grimes… etc and of course CATS!!!

    • thelastcorral January 3, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

      A Chorus Line is a great one, I agree. There’s a documentary out there about the casting of the latest A Chorus Line, pretty interesting if you ever get to watch it.

  2. thelastcorral January 2, 2012 at 7:13 pm #

    you know me…
    West Side Story!
    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...because healthy living shouldn't be complicated.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

The Sexy Flexi - This Blog Has Changed

now blogging at www.lifeisbangin.com

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Daily Cup of Yoga

tips, tools, & wisdom on yoga, fitness, & technology

