I am…Monday

24 Oct

Good day, eh and welcome to Monday.  Anybody, anybody?  Rick Moranis?  Bob and Doug McKenzie?

I know, it’s not time for Christmas, but I was reminded of them by the, “Good day, eh?”  But, I digress…

Today was Monday…don’t get too excited.

School News

In Being a Writer today, the kids had to write from the point of view of an animal.  So they were writing sentences like, “I am a shark.  I have sharp teeth and scare fish away.”  Fine, right?  The story that was read, totally reminded me of Fight Club (I am Jack’s inflamed sense of rejection…).  The animals in the desert were talking and saying things that were like, ” I am the running hops below your feet.”  Total Fight Club, right?  No?  Well, I think so.  So, if you are looking for a children’s book that reminds you of Fight Club, the dialogue in the book totally did it for me. 

This weekend was spent running, walking, and looking for chairs. 

First, I checked out Value City to see their selection:

The last chair is in contention for the one I want.  I just wish I could get it in a different color other than brown.  I also looked at chairs at Room Store.  I found a great green one that I like…  We shall see.

In other news, on Thursday I finally used my Groupon to Spa on the Boulevard.  I was able to get an organic pedicure and shellac manicure.  I have really been wanting to try a shellac manicure so it was the perfect time. 

I actually got a gelish manicure, so the nail polish stays on for 21 days instead of 14.  I have to admit 21 days is a long day with one nail color, but mine is pretty neutral.

The process for shellac/gellish is about the same as a regular manicure.  They work on your nails, cuticles, and massage your hand.  Then you have to scrub your nails and underneath.  When they are putting on the color (it’s different from regular nail polish of course), they put on a coat and then your hand goes underneath UV lights.  This, I’m guessing helps it dry and solidify.  So they put a coat on, nails under UV, put a coat on the other hand, nails under UV.  It goes back and forth until you reach the desired look.

The cool thing, I think, is that once your hands come out from underneath the UV the last time…they are totally dry!  It’s amazing.  You can stick your hands in your purse, do whatever you want.  I’m on day 4 and my nails still look like day 1.  The manicurist did mention that nails tend to grow faster with shellac/gellish because your nails are being protected. 

Also and this is really important!

 DO NOT PICK YOUR SHELLAC MANICURE OFF! 

The nail polish bonds to your nails, so if you start to pick, you are going to be picking off part of your nail as well.  The way I was told to do it is to soak my nails in acetone nail polish remover for 15 minutes and then take it off like normal.  I’m pretty impressed so far and I’ll definitely go back to get it done again.

Hope you are all off to a great week!

Leave a Reply

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...because healthy living shouldn't be complicated.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

The Sexy Flexi - This Blog Has Changed

now blogging at www.lifeisbangin.com

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Daily Cup of Yoga

tips, tools, & wisdom on yoga, fitness, & technology

