Jackson recap!

12 Aug

Welcome back!  And mind you I am saying this to me…not really you.

I crash landed in bed around 12:30 last night.  Pretty good considering:

my plane landed at 10:57

I had to drive in the tunnel which was down to one lane to fix…wait for it….a lightbulb!

Once arriving home I had to lug my 59 lb, yes 59, who knew wine could be sooo heavy 😉 up the stairs without waking everybody up.

Then my friends, I crashed and slept…so good.

Anyway,recap!  This past week I was in the great state of Michigan.  More specifically I was at Browns Lake in Jackson Michigan.  My family has a house on a lake there and it is…wonderful!

Behold!

The house was built in 1937 and has been in the family since then.  During the week I did a whole lot of relaxing, as I think you saw from previous posts.

There was also kayaking, pretty sunset watching

Wine drinking

I had a Groupon to Chateau Aeronautique and it was worth every penny!  We had a private wine tasting for four, which included a tour of the grounds.   It was really cool.  Lorenzo, the vintner was very informative and you could tell he loved what he was doing.  Next time I’m in town and have a way to get the wine home, I’ll be stopping by!

and eating

We ate…a lot. What can I say, my family likes to eat and enjoy food.   If I included pictures of everything we ate, you’d think we were a bunch of gluttons.  On Wednesday, we went out to eat for my birthday at the Grange Kitchen and Bar in Ann Arbor.  The Grange is a farm to table restaurant, which is amazing.  The thing that really sealed the deal for me was that they got some of their dairy products from my favorite dairy ever (seriously) Calder Brothers.  Everything on the menu at the Grange was fresh and seasonal, I love that!  All of our food was delicious.  I got the pan roasted chicken (holy crispy skin), my aunt got the risotto with squash, she literally licked the bowl clean (okay not literally, but she sure got some bread to get every last drop), dad got the white fish (which was gone in seconds) and mom got the duck (so rich and yummy!).  If you are ever in Ann Arbor and want some fresh delicious food, go here!  Oh!  My favorite part of the meal, and this is sad, were the spicy green beans.  They were so crisp and flavorful, I didn’t know green beans could taste so good.

I love visiting Browns Lake!  I’m so glad I could spend a week there!

One last parting shot…

2 Responses to “Jackson recap!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The end of days… « The Last Corral - September 6, 2011

    […] Visiting Michigan […]

  2. I love wine « The Last Corral - August 24, 2012

    […] north to Chateau Aeronautique.   We went to the Chateau last year when I had my Groupon for a private wine tasting.  Lorenzo wasn’t there this year, but it was just as good.  They had four brand new wines […]

Leave a Reply

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...because healthy living shouldn't be complicated.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

The Sexy Flexi - This Blog Has Changed

now blogging at www.lifeisbangin.com

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Daily Cup of Yoga

tips, tools, & wisdom on yoga, fitness, & technology

