Drunk Running

2 Aug

I am here today to discuss the benefits of drunk running.  Okay, okay, don’t get too up in arms.  Despite yesterdays post this will not be turning into My Drunk Kitchen

Not really drunk running, more like running without glasses so I can’t really see running.  Yeah, that’s it! 

Okay, that’s a great picture.  I mean am I right? 

So the benefits of running without your glasses or contact lenses in:

  1. You can’t really see where you are going, hence making the run go faster!
  2. People leave you alone.  Since you are kind of stumbling or tripping over your feet a bit (what, only me?) people tend to stay out of your way.
  3. The run is much more exciting.  Since you can’t see where you are going.  The road/trail/path tends to rise up to meet you giving you unexpected inclines, potholes, and bumps along the way
  4. Nature leaves you alone.  Much like people Nature (mainly squirrels trying to dive bomb you or throw nuts at you) go the other way.  They don’t want to mess with whatever craziness you may have.

So there ya go!  Exciting right?  In all seriousness, I don’t think I’ll be doing blind running again if I can help it.  I did scuff my feet a lot more than I usually do and it got really annoying.  I have an eye doctor appointment tomorrow and hopefully I will get more contacts and take care of this pesky problem.  I ran 1.7 miles of my 4 mile trek today.  Now, that was with a walk break after my first mile run, but I’ll take it! 

I’m trying to up my running since I said that I would portions of both the Wicked 10K and the Outer Banks 8K/5K (which one did I sign up for?).  I’m getting better at it, but I def need to up the mileage. 

Anybody out there have suggestions for that, other  than the obvious?

Leave a Reply

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...because healthy living shouldn't be complicated.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

The Sexy Flexi - This Blog Has Changed

now blogging at www.lifeisbangin.com

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Daily Cup of Yoga

tips, tools, & wisdom on yoga, fitness, & technology

