Hi my name is Emily

13 Jun

…and I am a Broadway musicalholic.  Seriously I am.  I guess it all started when my mom had West Side Story on cassette tape.  Yah, remember those!  My addiction has been pretty much non-stop since we played Phantom of the Opera one year in marching band.  I have to full Playbill binders and probably need to spread them out to four.  I may have more musical numbers on my iPod than “real” music.  I’m pretty sure that I have the lyrics to RENT, Phantom, In the Heights, and Sweeney Todd memorized.  What information had to go for all those lyrics to go in…irrelevant!

My mom, grandma, and aunt are/were really into musicals.  My mom likes to tell the story of staying up listening to Carousel on the radio.  So, I’m pretty sure it’s in my blood!

Anywhozits, last night was the Tony Awards cue The Producers, “Tony, Tony, Tony…he’s having a stroke.  Of genius!”

Yes, last night was the Tony’s.  I love to watch the Tony’s and see all the musical numbers, mainly.  It’s also fun to see who’s there and if the host is any good.  Well, lemme tell ya.  This year the host was none other than NPH himself.  Now, Neil was in RENT, Assassins, Cabaret, and Proof so he knows what’s up.  One of my favorite moments during the Tony’s was when he and Hugh Jackman battled over who was the better host.

Who is the better host?  I don’t know it’s a toss up…they’re both cute and talented…

I also thought the opening was pretty entertaining

I kinda cringed for Brooke Shields and her night didn’t get much better when she was presenting her award.

Lastly, I was super psyched to learn that Lin Manuel a la In the Heights fame was writing NPH’s closing.  I love me some Lin Manuel, he’s so talented it’s ridiculous.  Take a peek…

Oh and here’s one of my favorites from In the Heights

Love it!

Okay I could go on and on, but this post is pretty video laden.  Maybe later I’ll expose more of my inner Broadway geekness.  Oh it’s in there!

Oh Adam, I know if I could have spoken to you...our lives would be so different!

2 Responses to “Hi my name is Emily”

  1. bridgesburning June 13, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    Another lover of musicals??? Me too and yes I enjoyed the Tonys too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The A-mah-zing….. « The Last Corral - June 28, 2011

    […]  In the Heights.  I’ve spoken of my love for In the Heights and Lynn Manuel Miranda before and this little gem is […]

Leave a Reply

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...because healthy living shouldn't be complicated.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

The Sexy Flexi - This Blog Has Changed

now blogging at www.lifeisbangin.com

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Daily Cup of Yoga

tips, tools, & wisdom on yoga, fitness, & technology

