How to be a spectator in a half marathon

3 May

Or a volunteer for that matter…

Do

  • Have a positive attitude
  • Scream words of encouragement
  • Say my name, that sounds weird, but seriously if you see my name on my shirt it really helps if you use it.  Not just, “You in the pink, awesome job!”  Do you realize how many people are wearing pink?
  • Offer fruit slices
  • Start, “If you’re happy and you know it…”  You will be amazed at how many people will reply.  By this point we will do pretty much anything someone says
  • Have a clever sign.  My favorite one from the race said, “Worst Parade Ever!”  Good times.

Don’t

Say these things:

  • Keep going!  Really cuz I was going to stop until you said something!
  • You are almost there! Not cool, especially if I am only on the early stages of the race
  •  It’s all downhill from here Because it’s not, it’s really not.  There are sure to be more hills for me to go up.  Plus if you’re telling me it’s all downhill that’s usually bad
  • Don’t stop!  This goes directly with Keep Going, but just a different variation.

Don’t

  • Cross in front of me to get to the other side of the street while I’m walking right at you.  I think this is pretty self-explanatory.
  • Piss off the Police Officers.  Again, pretty self-explanatory.  All this does is get them all upset and the occurrence of a car hitting me rises.
  • Get all upset when I don’t want your water and/or Gatorade.  I just may not be thirsty.  Don’t hate!

Thank you!

Did I forget any?  Any you want to add?

And now…photos that didn’t fit into the other posts

Flying Pig Recap 1

Flying Pig Recap 2

Fountain Square

The last corral!

 

One Response to “How to be a spectator in a half marathon”

  1. Mom May 3, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    I also liked…
    Toenails – overrated
    and
    always keep your shorts on – running naked = not cool 🙂

Leave a Reply

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...because healthy living shouldn't be complicated.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

The Sexy Flexi - This Blog Has Changed

now blogging at www.lifeisbangin.com

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Daily Cup of Yoga

tips, tools, & wisdom on yoga, fitness, & technology

