What goes up…

19 Apr
Oh Spring Break, how I have waited…and waited for you.  It is so nice just to have a break and sleep in ’till whenever I want!

This morning I got up and took another walk.

One of the things I wanted to do while home was get some hill training in.  As beautiful as Virginia Beach, there are not a lot of hills.  Who’d a thunk, right? 

Well, Middletown has plenty…

Up the hill…

and down....

 

And up again...

The last hill is called the MUM Hill.  Why you ask?  Because it’s on the Miami University Middletown campus.  Real creative, I know.  Anyway, we had to climb up and down this hill in summer gym.  It was just as brutal then…  I did three miles yesterday and four the day before.  I was planning on doing more today, but Mother Nature has other ideas…

When I got home, this guy was waiting for me in one of our trees.

The elusive albino squirrel

Although I don’t know how elusive he is…I’ve seen him the past two days. 

After walking, I did some actual work.  Crazy concept!  The week after my Spring Break I am going on to a conference in DC so I had to make lesson plans.  Fun, fun! 
 
Last night, we also went to a Reds game
Good food was eaten…

Montgomery Inn BBQ. Yes, please!

Something I found really confusing was that they made the concession stand people at the Montgomery Inn booth wear cowboy hats, cowboy boots, a bandana around their neck and checkered shirts.  I didn’t get it.  Are we really that much in the south??

Mr. Redlegs, Mrs. Red, and Gapper

 

Joey!

Joey and the rest of the Reds apparently forgot how to play last night.  Either that or they were really distraught and distracted by idiot pitcher Mike Leake.   I mean seriously, $10 shirts??

We had  great seats and the weather was perfect, but it would have been nice to have a win over the Pirates.  Ah well, next time. 

Daily Post

What do you want to accomplish with your blog?

Leanne and I started the blog so that we could chronicle our journey to do a half marathon in each state.  That is still what this blog is about, but it’s als turned into other things.  The blog is also where we can update our family members of different things happening in our lives.  It’s a place were we can do food reviews, trip reviews, and generally just rant and rave about stuff we find interesting.

How is your Spring Break going?

40 Responses to “What goes up…”

  1. The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife April 19, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    An albino squirrel!? Love it!

    • thelastcorral April 19, 2011 at 10:47 am #

      Oh yes, he’s been hanging around for some 6/7 years or so now. I always wonder if it’s the same squirrel…

  2. jaredblakedicroce April 19, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    Good luck on your marathons you two! It’s funny how the “hills” seem straight due to the perspective of the camera — we’ll have to take your word on it 🙂 (That Pulled Pork n chips looks divine, how was it?)
    Gratz on being FP ~J

    • thelastcorral April 19, 2011 at 10:46 am #

      Thanks! They (hills) are most definitely not straight, if only…

  3. Mikalee Byerman April 19, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    I’ve never seen an albino squirrel … so I’d say that’s pretty darn elusive. And cool!

    Fun post — I’ll admit to being a little jealous of your day, hills and losses and all…

    🙂

  4. Rufus' Food and Spirit Guide April 19, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Cool shot. An albino squirrel! Good luck on your journey and congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  5. ALIVEalways April 19, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    Pretty awesome, pal.

  6. oftheglamourpersuasion April 19, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    I love your idea of doing a half marathon in every state!

    I started my blog just to store pictures & memories in a place where I can reminisce about them later. 😉 Looking forward to your half marathon updates!

    • thelastcorral April 19, 2011 at 11:28 am #

      Thanks! It’s an ambitious goal, but I think we can do it. Our blog, too, has become a place for storing memories. I didn’t think of that at the beginning, but it’s totally what it is. Thanks for reading! 🙂

    • strongNfragile April 20, 2011 at 9:50 am #

      Blogging for storing memories? Nah, i didnt think of that too, that’s good! I’ve been mostly lamenting in my Blog, hahaha, because i cant be lamenting to friends or anyone, i dont do that. But now that my issue is way past me now, i’m at a lost for more things to say, so your idea excited me. Hmmm…. i’d do that too. Thanks!

  7. liam April 19, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    cool iv been to that game before i love it

  8. Sajeevs blog April 19, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    Beautiful pictures:-)

  9. Eva McCane April 19, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    love the journey!

  10. CrystalSpins April 19, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    No Spring Break for me, sadly. Poor Crystal grew up and wasn’t prepared for the fact that (although I don’t have homework anymore) I only get 4 holidays a year. Boo. Being a grownup kinda sucks. Being a teacher can’t be all that bad after all. I should have listened to my mother.

    Crystal

  11. bevysthots April 19, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    Great pix of that squirrel – 😉 Very cool!

  12. lucasnevalainen April 19, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    =)

  13. notesfromrumbleycottage April 19, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    We are home to the elusive Black Squirrel. More have been popping up here lately. I try to do many different things on my blog but the gardening posts are my favorite.

  14. beckyspringer April 19, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    A half marathon in every state!? Awesome! I’m considering the Rock N Roll half in Chicago (September, I think?). I used to live in Va Beach (did 6 years in the Navy), and I cheered on my friends who ran the 1/2 marathon while i drank beer on the sidelines :). Now I hope to join them!! Good luck to you both!!

  15. Taylor Elizabeth-Rose April 19, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    Hahah I like the “elusive” squirrel!
    Congrats on being on Freshly Pressed!! I’m kind of jealous.

  16. charlie nitric April 19, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Hi There – I like the personal photos you incorporated into your blog. I find it very eye-appealing and something I plan to improve upon for my own page. Nicely done! http://charlienitric.wordpress.com/

  17. fornormalstepfathers April 20, 2011 at 12:43 am #

    I admire people who participate in marathons! Well done!

    nice photos too 🙂

    congratulations on being freshly pressed!

  18. Miki April 20, 2011 at 4:24 am #

    mlb.Exciting sport.: )

  19. Katie Gou April 20, 2011 at 5:11 am #

    You should come to Scotland to tackle some serious hills and I should come to the US to tackle that serious burger! YUM!

    • thelastcorral April 20, 2011 at 9:48 am #

      Sounds like a deal! I’m part Scottish, I’d fit right in…;)

  20. sarimirfan April 20, 2011 at 5:24 am #

    for those sitting in the office…in the mid week…the pictures want inspire to take a leave and hit the road !

  21. richannkur April 20, 2011 at 6:43 am #

    Good one.. congrats on being freshly pressed…

  22. Katie April 20, 2011 at 7:18 am #

    When you come to Nebraska for a marathon, you will need to get a picture of our black squirrels – and then you will have a salt-n-pepper set of pictures!

  23. hellowing2010 April 20, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    nice pix ^^

  24. superstarme411 April 20, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    I love that you took these photos and didn’t take off them off from the interent. I should do that. I love your artical.:)
    please read mine if you may.
    http://superstarme411.wordpress.com/2011/04/20/abortion/#respond

  25. AskTina4Advice April 20, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    I enjoyed the photos and story very much.

  26. creativeconfessions April 20, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    You caught an albino squirrel on camera? Nice! Isn’t it just so adorable… 😀

  27. old friend April 20, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    Most of the comments were about the pictures you posted! Hmmm….. i should take note and do that too, post pictures inside my blog posts….. i’m learning, i’m learning…… hehehe

  28. Joshua April 20, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    Go REDS

  29. thor27 April 23, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    I read freshly pressed almost daily
    Check out my blog sometime.
    “Whatcha need Got you covered in Northwest Houston,Tx.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What goes up… | Gadget Corral - April 24, 2011

    […] View the original article here […]

  2. Flying Pig recap Part 2 « The Last Corral - May 2, 2011

    […] far to where I really needed it.  Mile six brings us to the hills, oh the hills!  Remember this post?  I purposefully did a lot of hills in Middletown during Easter to prepare myself for the hills in […]

Leave a Reply

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...because healthy living shouldn't be complicated.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

The Sexy Flexi - This Blog Has Changed

now blogging at www.lifeisbangin.com

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Daily Cup of Yoga

tips, tools, & wisdom on yoga, fitness, & technology

