Wondrous Weekend

3 Apr

Oh, how I love the weekend!  It always goes by too quickly.  This weekend I really wanted to focus on getting some miles in since I have been doing such a poor job of it thus far.

On Saturday, after yoga, I went to the Dismal Swamp Canal Trail in Chesapeake.  I have heard about the trail, but never been there.  Kind of crazy since I’ve lived here from some time now.

This is basically what my view looked like the entire time.  The trail is actually an old part of Virginia St. Rt. 17.  It was nice to have a paved path for the whole time, but I did get annoyed by one thing…the mile markers.  The miles were marked at every quarter-mile.  It was really distracting to me.  I was always looking for them and focusing on them.  Blah!  I had to train my focus to the road so I wouldn’t look for them.  That sounds silly to say, but it played tricks with my mind!

 

Bears?! Where??

I like how it says to enjoy bears from a distance and to report any human/bear encounters.  If I’m having a human/bear encounter, I don’t know if I’m going to be able to report it.  Just sayin’.

I walked three miles in, turned around and did three miles out.  That should equal six miles, right?  Not according to my iPod tracker.  It said I did 5.5, ummm no.  I’m pretty sure I walked six, I know my basic addition facts.  Don’t gip me my 1/2 mile!

Today I did the Cape Henry Trail at First Landing State Park.  I definitely prefer this trail over Dismal Swamp.

 

So pretty

The trail was pretty busy when I started out, but at about midway point I was walking by myself.  I did a total of 61/4 miles on this trail.  Again my Nike iPod tracker got all confused.  At one point when I checked my pace it said I was doing 0 minutes per mile.  Say what?  At least it got the mileage right today.  I even got congratulations at the end of my walk, the Nike tracker is sweet like that.

I had fun on this trail, however it took about 2 miles for my legs to loosen up.  I don’t know why.  I started out slowly so as to not get shin splints and picked up my pace once I was feeling a little more limber.  Any suggestions to speed up the loosening process?

There were big mud puddles all throughout the trail, mainly because the trail goes through a swamp and we’ve gotten a lot of rain lately.

 

I saw a kid do a face plant into a mud puddle while I was walking.  He screamed and acted like he was dying…going on and on…  Although I can’t judge, I’d probably scream and cry too. The kid literally slipped off his bike and fell face first into the squishy mud.   I thought the mud puddles were fun!  At times, I would purposefully walk right through the middle of them.

This is what happens when you walk through mud puddles...

After my lovely walk, really it was!  I needed some stretching in my life.

 

Extended side forward fold

Downward Dog

 

These are two of my favorite yoga poses to do after walking.  They really help!

Now, I’m chillin’ and watching the Royal Tenenbaums.  Love this movie.

“Well, everyone knows Custer died at Little Bighorn. What this book presupposes is… maybe he didn’t”

Royal: I’ve always been considered an asshole for about as long as I can remember. That’s just my style. But I’d really feel blue if I didn’t think you were going to forgive me.
Henry Sherman: I don’t think you’re an asshole, Royal. I just think you’re kind of a son of a bitch.
Royal: Well, I really appreciate that.

Ah, good times.

How ’bout you?  How was your weekend?

 

 

Leave a Reply

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...because healthy living shouldn't be complicated.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

The Sexy Flexi - This Blog Has Changed

now blogging at www.lifeisbangin.com

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Daily Cup of Yoga

tips, tools, & wisdom on yoga, fitness, & technology

