wd -50

23 Feb

Where were we?  Oh yeah, wd – 50.

On Friday night Leanne scored reservations for us at wd – 50.  We were both super excited, since we had seen Wylie Dufresne on Top Chef and other food related shows.  He specializes in molecular gastronomy; which means he can make what looks like udon noodles taste like oysters or vice versa.  It’s really amazing stuff.

Remember how I said Leanne got shoes at Macy’s?  Remember? Well she did and she tried them on at Macy’s walked around in them…  The shoes fit fine, they were a little tight, but they were okay.  Leanne thought everything was cool, this was not the case.  We got ready to go; makeup, dressed up and of course shoes.  As soon as we stepped into the hallway, Leanne stepped out of one of her shoes.  No biggie, she just slipped out.  Umm, no.  The shoes would not stay on!

Sure, they look cute...

These shoes kept slipping off, sliding off, whatever.  They were not staying on!  We were now walking around Delancey St. trying to find the restaurant and Leanne’s shoes kept falling off.  Edit – just a side note.  I tried the shoes on the next day and as soon as I took my first step; my foot came right out.  Would. Not. Stay. On!

There may or may not have been a “catching” incident whilst trying to find wd – 50.  After much walking around, having to turn around and go the other way, and cursing; we found wd – 50.

We got there right at 7:00, right when our reservation was, and got seated right away.  From our table we could see into the kitchen and guess who was there?  Wylie himself!

Kind of like this, actually...

It was pretty cool and maybe I was a little starstruck.  I mean you know your food is going to be good when the chef who came up with the concept of the restaurant is actually there, right?

We split a bottle of wine and decided on the tasting menu.  The tasting menu was a pretty hefty price.  Ready for this?  Okay, $140 per person.  Whoo, deep breath.  Lemme tell ya…it was worth every penny.  So, the tasting menu…  It’s a nine item tasting menu, plus dessert items.  When we got the first plate, we were thinking we made a bad decision since the portion was so small, but by the end of the night we were stuffed!

I know, it’s tiny.  You can check out wd-50’s website to see a tasting menu similar to what we ate.   If it’s too small here is what is says…

  • Tai snapper, ginkgo nut, honey, red miso – good little amuse bouche, it amused my bouche.  Ha!
  • Everything bagel, smoked salmon threads, crispy cream cheese – very interesting.  The everything bagel was actually ice cream made from everything bagel and guess what!?  It tasted like everything bagel!
  • Foie gras, passionfruit, chinese celery – this was my favorite thing, maybe ever.  It was so creamy, tart, and just plain delicious!  I felt like I was cutting into velvety goodness, filled with tangy and fresh passionfruit.  It was really good!
  • Scrambled egg ravioli, charred avocado, kindai kampachi – the “egg slut” dish, as Leanne called it.
  • King oyster ‘udon’, sweetbreads, banana-molassas, pickled ginger – this was surprisingly yummy.  I didn’t think I would like sweetbreads, because well they’re glands and pancreas?  Maybe?  I don’t know, regardless they were smooth scrumptious.
  • Scallops, bone marrow, parsnip, black sesame – surprised that I liked bone marrow.  I’ve heard over and over again on Top Chef and other shows how amazing it is…It is (amazing that is).
  • Beef and béarnaise – again not what you would expect.  They were like béarnaise pillows in a beef au jus.
  • Squab breast, cheese pumpkin, corn bread, pickled cranberries – this was like Thanksgiving on a plate.  Really.  A good feel good little plate of food.  The squab was perfection, the cheese pumpkin was like a pumpkin puree (kind of).
  • Buttermilk ice cream, kumquat, orange blossom, cumin – Again yum.  The kumquat was candied and it cut through the rich ice cream.
  • Grapefruit curd, campari, hibiscus, sorrel
  • Soft chocolate, beets, long pepper, ricotta ice cream – this was my favorite dessert.  The soft chocolate was a mousse in a squiggle design.  The beets were a sauce that was splashed across the plate.  The long pepper was in a kind of crumbly bit form and caught you off guard with the spice.  The ricotta ice cream, de.lish.us!
  • Cocoa packets, Rice Krispy treats – This may have been the most confusing part of the meal.  Maybe not, the bathroom was pretty confusing, anyway.  Cocoa packets?  Literally looked like plastic, rectangular, brown packets.  When you put it in your mouth and bit down, it was all chocolate, wild!

The bathroom?  Confusing!  Leanne told me it was confusing when she went (she had to have someone tell her where the door was).  She told me you have to push where you can see the door outline. So when I had to go to the bathroom I thought,” Psh, I thought, I got this!”  Wrong friendo!

I got to the bathroom, it’s unisex, no biggie.  I get to the doors, I can’t tell where the outline is!  Panic sets in!  I was just standing there with my arm kind of extended trying to figure it all out.  Luckily a guy came in at the same time and said, “I think you just push the wood.”  So I did, and the night was saved.  Okay, maybe that’s a bit dramatic, but when have I ever shied away from drama?

Even though wd-50 had a confusing bathroom situation; they well made up for it in their food.  As soon as I become a millionaire, I am going to move to New York and have Wylie Dufresne be my personal chef.  That sounds plausible, right?  Seriously, it was one of the best food experiences I have ever had.  Nothing was exactly as it seemed, but yet, it all tasted amazing!

Daily Post

If you could have anything to eat right now, what would it be?

How appropriate!  After the weekend that we had, I think it would be hard to choose what I would want to eat, but no.  I would want to eat wd-50’s foie gras, passionfruit, and chinese celery.  It was sooooo good.  I could have kept eating it and eating it.

 

Yum!

Leave a Reply

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...because healthy living shouldn't be complicated.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

The Sexy Flexi - This Blog Has Changed

now blogging at www.lifeisbangin.com

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Daily Cup of Yoga

tips, tools, & wisdom on yoga, fitness, & technology

