Damn you Bobby Flay! Part 2

22 Feb

…or how we ate our way across Manhattan and survived the bitter, cold wind.

I guess I should explain the title of the post a bit.  I don’t actually want to damn Bobby Flay, really.  I think he is arrogant, cocky, and an awesome chef.  It’s because of the first two descriptors that he gets on my nerves.  He’s so damn sure of himself, but you know what?  He makes amazing food, but that is for a later post.

Day 2 in New York – We started off with breakfast at Crumbs Bake Shop.  Scrumptious is all I have to say!  I got part of an apple ring with hazelnut iced coffee and Leanne got a cappuccino and a mixed berry muffin.  The good thing about Crumbs is that is like a block away from Macy’s which is where we were planning on shopping that afternoon.

The reason for shopping at Macy’s, like we need a reason, is that I didn’t have a dress to wear to American Idiot on Saturday and Leanne didn’t have shoes.  Well shucks, guess we’ll just go shopping.  😉

 

I found a really cool dress that fits well!  Yay!  And Leanne found some cool platform black pumps, or so we thought…  Hooray for successful shopping trips!

After lunch we headed back to the hotel to drop off our packages and search for lunch.  We decided to get pizza, like we thought we were going to get on Thursday until we found Shake Shack.  Not that I’m complaining.  Lunch was at John’s Pizzeria on 44th St.  I love this place.  My aunt introduced it to me on my first visit to New York way back in 2000.  Woah, that was a long time ago…

Hello Adam Pascal! Oh wait, what were we talking about?

Anyway, my aunt introduced me to John’s pizza and I’ve never looked back!  Leanne and I got a small pizza with pepperoni and sausage on half, so yummy.  The crust was perfectly crispy and the cheese was gooey and fresh, again, so delicious!   After stuffing ourselves we headed over to MoMa.  I love MoMa; I  think it’s a great museum and it’s always different.  Every Friday night you can get in for free; it’s a pretty amazing deal.  We, however, couldn’t wait until night because we had dinner reservations at wd50 (exciting!).  Back to the point!  MoMa!  We perused the floors of MoMa, stopping at most of them, except for architecture…love looking at it on buildings, can’t stand looking at it in sketch form, sorry.

Here are some of our favorites from MoMa

 

Christina's World - Wyeth

 

Andy Warhol's cows + Leanne = A very happy Leanne

 

Jasper Johns' Flag. You can see all the different layers he uses in his paintings!

Andy Warhol's - Elvis

Me too! This was a piece done by Yoko Ono (ugh!) called the wish tree. They took all the wishes off and put them in this box. I was so happy to see this wish on top!

So, this actually wasn't in MoMa, but I could see it through the big window. I thought it was cool. See, love looking at buildings, but not sketch's of architecture...

 

I loved our trip to MoMa, there is always so much to see on every trip.  On the top floor was an exhibition of films that Andy Warhol made during his heyday.  It was so quiet and calm, in an odd way, on that floor.  The first room was a selection of silent films that Warhol did with Edie Sedgewick, Dennis Hopper, Ginsburg, Sontag, Nico (this sounds like a RENT song), amount many others.  He basically just set up a camera on their faces and taped them until the tape ran out.  The second room was playing the Warhol film Empire:

What was cool about this was that you could just sit, in the dark, and watch the entire film (It’s only like six minutes long), but you could also tweet about it.  How Social Network is that!?  There was a roped off row of three “tweeters” just sitting during the film and tweeting about it.  Pretty cool.  Obviously there were no cameras or video allowed on this floor.  I thought it was really cool and something that I have never seen before.

Okay, enough gushing about New York for this post.  Tomorrow, we move on to wd50 and all the adventures that ensued with that!

Daily Post

When you’re feeling down, what music cheers you up?

As I know I’ve said before, I love music!  All kinds, genres, moods, whatever.  The music that I play to cheer me up can range from moody and mellow like Over the Rhine to poppy (I just wrote poopy, who’s been in elementary school too long) and amped up like Lady GaGa, Adele (not really poppy or amped, but whatev), the Beatles, or Broadway musicals.

School News

We had an assembly today on Black History Month.  It was a great presentation and the lady presenting had a lot of good information with pictures, movie and sound clips.  Towards the end of the presentation she asked the group who the famous African-American judge was in the picture (Thurgood Marshall if you’re wondering).  Not skipping a beat, someone in the crowd yelled out, “Judge Joe Brown!”  There was an audible groan from the back of the room where all the teachers were sitting…

2 Responses to “Damn you Bobby Flay! Part 2”

  1. Allie February 22, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    No wonder we are cousins. We have too much in common. =D

Leave a Reply

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...because healthy living shouldn't be complicated.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

The Sexy Flexi - This Blog Has Changed

now blogging at www.lifeisbangin.com

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Daily Cup of Yoga

tips, tools, & wisdom on yoga, fitness, & technology

