Teacher Dance of Joy

16 Dec

Or otherwise known as the snow day dance.  Yes, that’s right, we don’t have school today.  Is there any snow on the ground?  Nope.  Supposedly we are supposed to get a couple inches in about an hour or so.  So, I’m kinda glad they’ve cancelled school.

What am I going to do on this snow day you ask?  Well, I’ll tell ya!  Lots of Christmas odds and ends and errands.  Exciting right?

I went to the dentist yesterday (an exciting visit, lemme tell ya) and spent basically an hour listening to the hygenist scrape cement off my teeth.  Fun, fun, fun.  When my orthodontist took off my “bumpers” for Invisalign he left a lot of extras on my teeth.

This was not fun my friends, not fun at all.  it wasn’t that it hurt, it was the sound of the scraping on my teeth.  It was like squeaky styrofoam, nails on mini chalkboards and whatever else makes your skin crawl all at once.

*shiver*

On the plus side I did get to read this funny comic.

Sick and twisted?  Quite possibly, but I think it’s funny!

School news!

Yesterday a little boy brought in sugar cookies for the class to eat.  Here is a conversation that I had with one of my first graders…

S- Are there sugar in these cookies?

MG – Yes, they are sugar cookies.

S- Oh, my mom says I’m not allowed to have a lot of sugar

MG – Well, then you don’t have to eat the cookie if you don’t want to

S-Well, I’m just not supposed to have a lot of sugar

MG – Okay, then just eat part of the cookie, eat half

S- Okay, but I’m not supposed to eat a lot of sugar (kinda feeling like a broken record…)

MG- Okay, you just eat as much as you want.

A few minutes miliseconds go by… I walk back over to his desk

S- You don’t have to tell my mom I ate a cookie, right? (He says with green sugar sprinkles all over his mouth and a green stained tongue)

MG – No, I’m not going to tell her, but I think she’ll figure it out…

I just thought it was funny that he basically wanted to be validated that it was okay that he have a sugar cookie and that he was only going to eat part of it.

Happy Snow Day!

Leave a Reply

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...because healthy living shouldn't be complicated.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

The Sexy Flexi - This Blog Has Changed

now blogging at www.lifeisbangin.com

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Daily Cup of Yoga

tips, tools, & wisdom on yoga, fitness, & technology

