Which number is bigger?

23 Oct

Just a little insight into my world.  Because you haven’t had enough already?

We were comparing numbers today (which number is larger…).  The last problem we did was 491 and 502.  These two numbers were too big for the first graders so I told them to look at just the four and five.  Still getting blank stares…  So I said

MG: One person has four crayons and someone else has five.  Who has more crayons?

S: The boy!

Ooohh…

On Sunday I went on a trail walk.  On my way in I noticed some runner types setting up a tent.  Whatevs no big deal.  I kept walking in.  When I got into the main part of the trails there was now water stations and arrows on the actual trail.  Okay so obviously a race was going on.  It was still early on a Sunday so I figured I was good.  I went on my way and did think anything of it until I heard LOUD music on my way out of the trails.  I kept walking…now I see people lining the street.  I keep going…now I see a finish shoot.  I continue on, trying to think of a way to not walk through the shoot.  It wasn’t possible, so I finished a race in 18 minutes.  My best time ever!  Although I did feel like the race people felt like this…

nydailynews.com

Seriously though, I think one of the race people gave me the stink eye.  Hey!  Don’t put your race on my trail path!

Another story to go along with my trails.  A lot of the local high school’s cross-country teams like to run on the trails.  They are long and you can go so many different ways, it’s pretty convenient.  Anywho.  I noticed a group of girls coming up behind me, so I got out of the way.  When I got back on the path I saw one girl getting up and dusting herself off.  Then I saw her limping.  When I got closer I heard her whimpering.

I, of course, didn’t have my phone on me to call anyway.  She sat on a bench for a moment and then was off again, whimpering.  She kept going crying and stopping.  Walking and crying for a good 10 minutes, I was behind her the whole time.  The thing that boggled my mind was that no one from her cross-country team stopped for her.  Not cool guys, not cool.

Maybe I should I have told her this

cherierunsthis.com

Probably not…

Leave a Reply

andrew + sarah

details for our big day

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...keeping it real.

Bacon & Legs

Classy as Fuck.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

