Heart of Ghent 10K

23 Sep

Good Sunday to ya!  I hope the weekend treated you well!

On Saturday, as promised, I ran in the Heart of Ghent 10K.  It was a perfect morning for a race.  I got there early because I didn’t know how parking would be.  This was a good idea because where I wanted to park was roped off.  The people of Ghent (at least those parked on Colley) obviously didn’t get the memo and there were tickets a plenty flappin’ in the wind.  Ooops.

My outfit:

See, I even got two of the same shoe this time!  I had originally planned on wearing a long-sleeved pull over, but it was pretty warm so I nixed it and left it in the car.  Nice matching outfit righ?  Oh well.  I had to wear something Michigan since it was a game day and I didn’t  have any other shirts washed…  So pink with blue it is!

My plan for the race was to run a mile, walk a mile.  I did pretty much this and stuck with it.  I ran mile 1, walked 2…  It worked out pretty well and I felt good!  My mantra for the race?

runforthethrill.tumblr.com

The race course took you through the different little neighborhoods in Ghent.  It was neat to run past the old houses and see things I hadn’t noticed just driving by. 

After the race there was YNot Pizza, Moes, and O’Connor beer.  I went for pepperoni pizza and Green Can Ale.  A very good choice if I do say so myself.  Who says 9:35 is too early for pizza and beer!?

Francena McCorory was also there.  She’s in her “off-season”  She was very nice and was taking pictures with everybody.  I got her autograph and got to touch the gold medal.  Oooo.  It’s super heavy and very pretty.

I would do this race again.  For being its first year it was very well organized, had a great course, and wonderful food.  Drawbacks?  The course was dead.  I mean super quiet.  I don’t need throngs of people cheering me on, but a couple of people here and there wouldn’t have hurt.  Also the shirts were remarkably small.  I had checked for a medium, but when I picked up my packet they said they were running small and bumped up to a large.  I tried the shirt on today….I felt like I was wearing a shirt from Baby Gap.

Leave a Reply

andrew + sarah

details for our big day

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...keeping it real.

Bacon & Legs

Classy as Fuck.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

