Highs and Lows/Foodie Penpals

31 Aug

Now, I don’t want you to think that my Foodie Penpal was a low…that was not the case!

It’s Friday and my last weekend before school starts up again.  I’m excited for the new school year.  There are a lot of changes, most of them good!

High: For lunch today we were treated to Bravo’s!  It was so delicious!  Very thankful to have such a yummy meal!

Low: I started the week with this

Yup, real classy looking.  That’s how I walked into school on the first day of teacher work week.  So what did I do?  Well, it was either Fight Club (oh wait, you do no talk about Fight Club), my new (not really new)gen ed teacher is really mean, or I was trying to get into my car and duck out of the way of a tree branch and the car door won.  If you guessed the last choice, you’d be right. 

High: Food Penpals!  My penpal was Sam over at SexyFlexi.  She gave me an awesome Foodie box! 

Start at the left: chocolate roasted almonds S’mores, apple chips, Seaweed snacks, Madras Sambar, Vegan sprinkles, Cracked Pepper Jerky Stick, and last but definitely not least a twisted cheese croissant from Homeboy Industries.  Let me tell you, that croissant did not last long.  Pretty much as soon as I opened the box…I inhaled that croissant, sooooo good!

High: Continuing on from the Foodie High…  Sam made the ingenious move and included Wes Anderson movie quotes to go along with all the foods.  I seriously gasped and did a little happy dance when I saw that.

Croissant – “How do you say “grilled cheese” from Hotel Chevalier.  Jerky – Anthony “cracked” and when to the nuthouse from Bottle Rocket.

Madras Samba – Indian Food from Darjeeling Limited.  Vegan Sprinkles – “I’d like to order some ice cream for my daughter please” from The Royal Tenenbaums.  Sea Snacks – “I’ve been out to sea for a long time” from Rushmore. 

Dolphin Endangered Species Chocolate – “Son of a bitch, I’m sick of these dolphins” from The Life Aquatic.  Somehow I don’t have pictures of the apple chips (which I ate as a snack at the airport) and the almonds…  The quotes were: “The boy is being held in an apple crate on top of a gun cabinet in the attic of the Bean Annex” from Fantastic Mr. Fox and “Because what’s camping without S’mores?” from Moonrise Kingdom (which I still need to see).

I loved that Sam did that!  It was totally cool and I loved it.  Did I mention I loved it?

High: Sunsets, they are just perfection

Welp, I just got back from a walk.  The first one since I slammed my face into the car door.  I’m gonna chill have some din din and declare tonight movie night!

Have a great Labor Day weekend!

Leave a Reply

andrew + sarah

details for our big day

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...Keeping It real.

Bacon & Legs

Classy as Fuck.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

