If you can’t stand the heat…

9 Jul

…get into the kitchen?

I don’t think that’s the way the saying goes.  Ah well.

For some reason the 100 + degree temps really made me want to bake and cook.  Yes, I realize that means turning on the oven…  I’m sure the electric company will be overjoyed by AC bill.

Be forewarned none of these recipes are low cal or healthy by any means.

First off! 

I found some really good corn at Kroger (this is a big feat for the Tidewater region) and wanted to use it in a different way than just corn on the cob.   With some searching I came upon How Sweet Eats Grilled Corn and Cheddar Quinoa.  I followed the recipe pretty precisely only I didn’t use chicken stock (veggie stock) and I had to use my George Foreman Grill to grill the corn.  Oh and I didn’t have cilantro…but other than that.  The result?  A creamy, cheddary quinoa dish.  It was and is delicious! 

Next…

I have an abundance of beer in my refrigorator…this never has happened before…

So what to do?  Well of course you make cheddar bacon beer bread!

I found a recipe over at The Lush Chef.  Again I followed the recipe for Cheddar Beer Bread but added four slices of bacon!  How bad can that be, right!?  Not bad at all it turns out. 

Lastly

I wanted to use up some of the chocolate covered coffee beans that I had in stock.  I imagined coffee cookies…with chocolate!

I found a recipe on An Edible Mosaic and it was exactly what I was looking for.  Some things I changed…I added four tablespoons of day old coffee to the mix aaannnd I didn’t have any butter…so I used Crisco!  Ah!  I was scared, but everything turned out just fine!

The results are delicious coffee/mocha cookies.  Mine turned out a little more cake like than what I was expecting, but I’m not really complaining.

 

 

The taste of the cookie is so much better than the picture.  Promise.

Oh, have you checked out Food Network Humor?  You should, it’s hilarious!

Leave a Reply

andrew + sarah

details for our big day

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...keeping it real.

Bacon & Legs

Classy as Fuck.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

