Foodie Penpal!

31 Jan

I apologize now, this post is very random, but filled with very important things!  Kinda like me!

 

First off, I participated in a foodie penpal program set up by TheLeanGreenBean.  She came up with the ingenious idea of sending foodie gifts to other bloggers and readers.  This was my first time, but I was super excited to participate.  I got a box from the lovely Amanda at http://everduring.blogspot.com/

 

In my box: tea, Green and Black’s Peanut and Sea Salt chocolate bar (kinda tastes like Reese’s Cup, love!), cherry honey, and two Kind bars (apricot macadamia and blueberry pomegranate and nut) the apricot/macadamia might be my new favorite.  Thanks so much Amanda!!!

I also got to give a box to another blogger, specifically Darlynn at Little Blog Dress (her website is great and very helpful/informational)

If you think you’re interested in the Foodie Penpal experience:
 -on the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. it will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
 -you will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. on the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!
 -the boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! the spending limit is $15 the box must also include something written. this can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!
 -you are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)
 -foodie penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. if you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you are to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. if two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month.

 if you’re interested in participating for February, please send an email to lindsay attheleangreenbean@gmail.com and include the following information:
 -your full name
 -your email address
 -your blog name/address (if applicable)
 -your twitter handle (if applicable)

Contact  Lindsay  by February 4th as pairings will be emailed on the 5th.

:)  I loved doing this and am already signed up for this month!

Onward!

I got my second bottle of wine from the Virginia Wine of the Month club:

A red table wine by Veritas, a local Virginia Winery (duh).  It was quite easy to drink and I really enjoyed it!  I will be on the look out for it when I’m out and about (when I used to go out…;)

Lastly

I bought my first pomegranate this weekend (they were on sale!) 

 I then tried to depomegranate them.  I saw tips that said get a bowl full of water and they’ll just come out…or just cut a few slits down the side then smack them with something, the seeds will come right out.  I tried both methods…the seeds did not just come right out.

What I ended up doing was submerging them in water and then used my fingers to pick out the pomegranate seeds.  It worked, but I know there’s got to be an easier way!

Help a girl out!!

Happy random Tuesday!  Tomorrow is Hump Day! 

Are you excited to be over the hump?

2 Responses to “Foodie Penpal!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Foodie Penpals – February Edition « The Last Corral - February 28, 2012

    [...] If you missed my other Food Penpal Box take a gander. [...]

  2. Friday « The Last Corral - March 30, 2012

    [...] Door #1 [...]

Leave a Reply

andrew + sarah

details for our big day

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian...

...keeping it real.

Bacon & Legs

Classy as Fuck.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

