Run for the Dream – hills? What hills?

24 May

Where’d we leave off?  Ah yes, the start of the race…

Leanne and I started way  at the back while Phil went up and started way at the front.  It all worked out!

Some students from the Achievable Dream school sang the National Anthem and we were off!  There wasn’t a gun shot or anything like that, we just slowly moved forward. This was a smaller race; being the first year and all.  There was a total of about five thousand for the whole race weekend.  Pretty cozy.

This is what was behind Leanne and I…

See, I wasn’t kidding when I said we were at the back.  It was all good since we wanted to start with a more comfy pace.  Leanne was worried about her stiff back and foot.  I was a little worried since I had the Pig two weekends ago and hadn’t really trained for this one.

Anywho, on with the story!

Miles 1 – 2 were all through Colonial Williamsburg.  It was pretty cool to be walking through Williamsburg without anyone else there.  And by anyone else, don’t worry about the two thousand or so other runners/walkers.

I see you runners!

Miles 3 – 5 took us around  Colonial Williamsburg.  We really got to see the outlying areas of Williamsburg and some of the city.  It was tranquil through this part of the race.  Not a whole lot of spectators or other people about.  One thing I noticed right off the bat about this race was that there was not any entertainment at all.  In some parts it was nice to just be in Williamsburg and enjoying the scenery, but towards the end…I really needed something!  Around mile 3/4?  a lady in the neighborhood told us, “I brought you shade and a downhill!”  She was cute.  It’s little things that make races worth it!

Miles 6 – 9 these were the fun miles…or not really.  At mile six you turn and start heading into Historic Jamestown.  Also at this point you get to see the runners you haven’t seen in an hour or so.  This part of the course also starts with the hills….oh the the hills.  Looking at the elevation map

I didn’t fully appreciate how many elevation changes there were throughout miles 6-10.5.  Even that’s a lie.  Pretty much from mile 6 – 13…there was a hill in some shape or form.  Ugh…

I was doing fine during miles 6-9..er 8.  After that I hit…the brick frickin’ wall…  It pains me so…really, it does.  The thing is, Sunday was the hottest and most humid day of the year.  I know this sounds like an excuse, but whatever.  I drank water and Gatorade at every water station yet still at mile 9… I was done.  I had to make Leanne slow down her pace…I felt like a big weenie!  I know I shouldn’t but, hey it’s pride!  Leanne was my own personal cheerleader.  Honestly if she wasn’t there.  I so would have stopped.

At mile 8 we got serenaded by a piano player.  Seriously we did!  This man had an upright piano and was singing and playing old musical songs such as, “One.”  Leanne and I were very appreciative.

Moving on…

Miles 10 – 13.1  We had to move over for the ambulance to go pick up a walker behind us.  Lots of people were struggling due to the humidity and heat.  I hope that person was okay!  During these last couple of miles we headed back in to Colonial Williamsburg and onto the campus of William and Mary.  More Gatorade and water were consumed, but for some reason…didn’t really help.  Damn you humidity! *shakes fist at sky!*  Between miles 11 and 12 the best thing happened…a cool mist station.  Oh my God!  I felt like I stepped into a tiny little rain shower, it felt soooooo good!  After the cool down station we were heading into Zable Stadium at William and Mary.  We could hear the announcer yelling off everyone’s name,  I so wanted to be in the stadium so he could say my name!  So close!  There was one last turn and a hill (curses!)before entering the stadium.  This is where Phil showed up!  Thank goodness.  You know why?  He had water!  Oh and I guess he was a bit of a motivator…;)

Do you see what I see?

That, my fine friends,  would be the finish line.  When we entered the stadium they were playing Olympic themed music.  It was a good touch and it did help me a bit, although I kind of wanted to be on the back of those Olympians…

Leanne and I crossed the finish line in 3:18 unofficially, 3:15 officially.  Once we stopped moving, I felt a lot better.  Considering that I made us slow down, I think our time is pretty awesome.  It irks me to know that our time could have been better if I hadn’t been a human slug!

The after race party in the Sunken Garden was pretty impressive.

There was BBQ! 

and beer, although I did not partake.  They also had lots of other goodies such as cookies, peanuts, yogurt, bananas, and chocolate milk.  Yum!  There was also a live band playing.  Pret-ty good.

I give the “after party” an A+.

Leanne and I enjoyed this race, even with the whole “wall” thing.  It was the first year for the race, so I know next year will be even better!

I appreciate Leanne for helping me get through those last miles.  I appreciate Phil for having water at mile 13ish and for taking Leanne and I’s picture that last leg.  *Group hug!*

Leave a Reply

andrew + sarah

details for our big day

Kale & Cupcakes

a little bit of this 'n' that

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Kiss My Broccoli

One girl's journey to happiness one fresh vegetable at a time!

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

RVAFB

A group for fashion, lifestyle and beauty bloggers living in the Richmond, VA area.

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

The Pajama Chef

where the secret ingredient is love

Air Heart

A blog of sweat, tears, and the sea.

The Simple Dietitian

...running, eating, living.

Bacon & Legs

Classy as Fuck.

The Year Long Race

12 half marathons in 12 months to raise funds and awareness for VCU Massey Cancer Center

Living Adventurously

Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Striding Mom

Taking each day one stride at a time!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

